Mixing Fall and Winter Decor

I used to decorate for Christmas. Everything was strictly holiday and I found that as soon as New Years Day rolled around and I had to take it all down, it left me feeling blue. The house seemed strangely empty and I felt the urge to redecorate immediately.

In our family, on both sides, all of our birthdays fall between September and January. Then you throw in our Anniversary in October, and Christmas and by the time the new year rolls around you find yourself looking for quarters stuck between the couch cushions. Needless to say it’s not the best time to go on a shopping spree to redecorate your now depressingly “unfestive” abode.

I decided to try something new this year by mixing in my Fall decor with some generic Winter decor. As Fall passed I found that some of my fall decor still worked with the winter decor without looking too out of place.

DIY spray painted pumpkin (Wal-Mart). DIY mercury glass pumpkin (glass pumpkin from thrift store, looking glass spray from Wal-Mart). Two thrift store picture frames. Thrift store vase. Twigs from our backyard. Glass clip-on bird from K-Mart. DIY leaf tree. Twig wreath (Dollar Store). Dried coconuts from our trip to Hawaii.

DIY spray painted pumpkin (Wal-Mart). DIY mercury glass pumpkin (glass pumpkin from thrift store, looking glass spray from Wal-Mart). Two thrift store picture frames. Thrift store vase. DIY winter wreath. Twigs from our backyard. Glass clip-on bird from K-Mart. DIY leaf tree. Twig wreath (Dollar Store). Dried coconuts from our trip to Hawaii.

And now even though the holiday season is over, I still have a lot of my winter things up. We live in Colorado and we get a fair amount of snow, so I figure anything snow related is still relevant after New Years.

You can find out how I made some of these projects under my DIY links.

Pine Cone Tree

And who says you need to retire your white twinkle lights too? I have lit branches around my house year round. I think they are a fun addition. I’ve found them at garage sales before, but you can also purchase them at Big Lots for a good price.  And I found a use for the short white light strand we had in storage by mixing it with some decorative twig balls from Ross (6.99 for 10), some neighborhood pine cones and a few thrift store finds like that cute lantern to the right.

Winter Decor

Thrift store candle holders. Thrift store decorative platter. Ikea frame with Dollar Tree snowflake. DIY framed twigs with thrift store frame.

Coffee Table Center Piece

DIY mercury glass vase (vase from thrift store, looking glass paint from Wal-Mart). Wicker plate from thrift store. Pine cones from my neighborhood embellished with some white craft paint. Small ornaments and bells from Dollar Tree.

Owl decor

Lit branches from garage sale. Mercury glass bird from K-Mart. Snow branches from Michaels (40% off coupon). Mirror from garage sale. Mercury glass owl from Kohls. Pine cones from my neighborhood.

Hutch Decor

Mirror and lantern from Big Lots. Tealight glass holders from Dollar Tree. DIY white pumpkin (pumpkin and spray paint from Wal-Mart).

Side table decor

Thrift store vase. Dollar store and thrift store twigs and silver spray-painted eucalyptus.

Table Arrangement

DIY mercury glass goblet (goblet from thrift store, looking glass paint from Wal-Mart). Pine cones from my neighborhood. Mercury glass ornaments from Big Lots (awesome sales just before Christmas).

Ikea Lanter Centerpiece

Ikea lantern and silver candle holder. Ornaments from Dollar Tree and Big Lots. DIY frosted pine cones (neighborhood and white craft paint).

For the next month or two I’ll be enjoying the winter wonderland that our home has turned into. Then I’ll be ready to freshen things up with Spring.

Leave a Reply

