Winter wreath for less than $10

I think that my favorite DIY project this winter was this wreath:

Winter WreathIt was inexpensive, fun, and easy to do. The most challenging part was fitting all the pieces together to try to avoid gapping. But I brought home a bunch of tiny pine cones with me from Hawaii that worked great to fill in small gaps.

You probably think I have some sort of pine cone fetish. You’re probably right. When I found these beautiful Ponderosa pine cones in my neighborhood and realized that stores were selling packs of pine cones for several dollars, I went on a pine cone scavenge. I picked the best of the best and scattered them throughout my decor all over my house. It was free, what can I say?

Combining these pine cones with some dollar store ornaments and a pack of thrift store ornaments, I was able to create this cute little wintry wreath. Once again I used the bronze pine cone ornaments from the dollar store to help fill in the spaces. I also found a few silver ones as well. And around Christmas time you can find loads of bagged ornaments at the thrift store for a really reasonable price. I stumbled on a bag of white glass pine cone ornaments mixed with some white bells. I incorporated them into the project and hot glued everything to a foam floral ring from the dollar store.

Winter WreathWith any of these DIY projects, the important thing is to remember to keep an open mind and let yourself be inspired by what you find. If you spend enough time on Pinterest or other blogs looking at ideas, you’re bound to find something similar when you’re out on a thrift store hunt.

This wreath was my inspiration:

Wreath InspirationSince I already had this in the back of my mind, the items I found at the Dollar Tree and the thrift store jumped out at me. Your end product may not always be the same, but that’s usually a good thing.

One thought on “Winter wreath for less than $10

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyways, just wanted to say superb blog!

Leave a Reply

