DIY gift for the coffee lover in your life

I’m a coffeeholic. No doubt about it. One of the luxuries I have in my house is my espresso machine that I use on a daily basis. I got it for Mother’s Day last year and it’s one of the most well used gifts that I’ve ever received.

My sister-in-law’s husband is also a coffee fanatic. He drinks it by the shot because he has a very physical day job that requires him to be active for 12 hours a day. Coffee is part of his morning routine.

Guys can be kind of difficult to know how to shop for. I’ve always been a fan of homemade gifts because they are economical, thoughtful and fun. I saw ideas on Pinterest using a sweater to create a coffee cozy. As I stated before, I don’t own a sewing machine and my hand sewing skills are extremely limited. But if I can do this, you can too, as long as you know how to sew a button and do a simple hand stitch. And even if you don’t know how to sew a button, I suppose you could use a hot glue gun instead.

DIY Coffee Cozy Gift Set

I went to the thrift store looking for a grey sweater. I wanted to do a grey and red type of theme. I found one that didn’t have stains and was in pretty good shape. After that I took it home and washed and dried it, then got the scissors out. I cut off both sleeves to make a nice sized cozy. Then I took some red thread we already had and sewed a few buttons on for fun. I also did a hand stitch around the top and under the cuff part of the sleeve to give it a little bit of color around the edges. I think this took me about 15 minutes total once I had the supplies. And I ended up making two because I had two sleeves.

Since we buy coffee beans in bulk I just took about a half cup and put it in one of those cellophane party bags. I also had a 4×5″ piece of cardstock so I folded it in half, folded the top of the bag down and stapled it together. I designed and printed the tag from my home computer and printer, cut it with an x-acto knife and ruler and “double-stick-taped” it to the front.

If you want, you can download the pdf of the tag I made. download here.

I purchased a set of two plastic coffee cups at Home Goods for about $5. Since I already had a second coffee cozy made, I was able to make 2 gifts. So when you break it down piece by piece, the whole project was about $4 for each gift. Granted, if you don’t already have cellophane party bags, cardstock, thread or buttons, it would be a few dollars more, but still really a very reasonable price for a gift.

There is a lot of creative freedom in this project. There are a lot of sweater, button, and thread options out there. You can make larger cozies that cover the entire coffee cup. I’ve also seen people use an old mens tie that they wrap around once and then hot glue or sew together at the tip. There are all sorts of things you can use to embelish the cozy. Let your creative juices flow.

Leave a Reply

