Simple DIY wall or mantel art

I found this idea on Pinterest in various forms and since I always have several extra picture frames that I’ve collected from thrift store trips, and I had some extra twigs that came with a set of lit branches I found at a garage sale, I figured this project would not only be free, but fun too.

If you haven’t noticed, I use my hot glue gun for a lot of my projects. If you don’t have one, you should get one. You can buy small ones at Hobby Lobby for a few dollars and if you have a 40% off coupon from their app or the paper, it makes it really cheap and it’s worth investing in one.

All I did was take out the glass and backing of the frame so it was just a solid frame. Then I just snapped the twigs to approximately the size I needed within the frame. I arranged them ahead of time in the way I wanted them to stay and then just started to glue them on.

Back of Framed Twigs

Easy peasy.

I let it set for about 15 minutes and then it was ready to place on my mantel.

Winter Decor

A nice addition among many other thrift store finds.

Since this was so fun and easy, I made another one for the wall in my living room. This time since I’d used the twigs I already had on my first project, I just got some from the Dollar Tree.

Framed Wall Art

Easy, cheap and cute.

And this is how it looks on my living room wall mixed in with everything else:

Monogrammed Pillow in Living RoomSo if you’re feeling crafty but only want to spend a few bucks, this is a nice winter touch to add to your walls, or place on a shelf, or your mantel.

Leave a Reply

