DIY painted end table

Vintage-looking painted furniture is really popular right now and that’s really good news for thrift store shoppers because this look can easily be achieved at a very low cost.

My parents receive the Ethan Allen catalog and my mom pointed out that they’re featuring a lot of this style on their website and in their mailers. I went onto their website just to get an idea of what they are charging.

Ethan Allen Table

This adorable end table from Ethan Allen is priced at $499 on their website.

I see furniture with this “bone structure” all the time at thrift stores. The problem is that they are usually in hideous condition with brassy gold hardware. But don’t let that get in your way. It is pretty easy to take one of these pieces and transform it into something lovely for your living room.

DIY Painted Table Before

Behold my next project.

I found this gem for only $9.99 at the thrift store. I was shocked that they were selling it for so cheap because it doesn’t wobble and is very sturdy (which is the most important thing). It had a lot of cosmetic issues though. Lots of scratches and dings and places where the finish was coming off. I didn’t care about any of those things though because I knew I would be painting it.

The first thing I did was take off the brassy hardware and use a medium sand paper block to sand the entire surface. Then I put on several coats of primer. Primer is something we always have around because we use it for some many things. I love how fast it dries so you can usually put on several coats of it in a shorter time frame.

I have some metallic brushed nickel spray that I’ve used for other projects so instead of finding new hardware I just sprayed the old one, especially since it’s purely decorative anyway. And this is what I had by the end of the day:

End table after

This entire project cost me $10 since I already had the paint and metallic spray.

I purchased the table around 10am, was home and sanding it around 10:30, had 2-3 coats of primer on it by 11:30 when I had to go pick up my daughter from preschool. I finished the final coats during her nap time. While I waited for the paint to dry I did a few coats of metallic spray on the hardware. By 3pm the project was finished and by that evening it was displayed in my living room.

Skeptical about spraying your hardware? Take a look at how this turned out:

DIY end table hardware

Looks pretty good, huh?

Anyone can do this. It will save you tons of money and make your house look beautiful! Most people won’t even know that you did it yourself. Colored paint is really in right now, but because my living room doesn’t get as much light, I wanted white pieces to brighten it up, plus I already had white paint so that kind of made my decision for me. Be creative though, there is no limit to what you can do with this.

2 thoughts on “DIY painted end table

  1. What kind of paint did you use for the final finish? I’m assuming that you put something over the primer. Thanks. Your table came out great.

    • Hi! I actually used a Valspar latex paint that had the primer mixed in with the paint. I think they refer to those as “Signature” paints. They give awesome coverage since they are a 2 in 1 paint/primer and you end up only needing to do 1-2 coats depending on the color you’ve chosen!

Leave a Reply

