DIY no-sew throw pillows

I’ll be the first to admit, I have practically no sewing skills. So anytime I can create something with fabric that doesn’t require a sewing machine, I get excited.

I found some ideas on Pinterest related to covering old throw pillows with fabric without having to sew, but I ended up modifying it just a tad. The one I saw used a knot to tie the fabric together. I tried this idea at home but it ended up just looking messy and I wasn’t very pleased with the final product. I wanted something a little more simple-looking that had cleaner lines.

Here is what I did:

DIY pillow step 1

Buy one yard of fabric, center your old throw pillow within the fabric and fold one side up.

DIY throw pillow step 2

Fold the top side down and also fold about 1/2 inch of the bottom underneath to make a clean line.

DIY throw pillow step 3

Take the sides and fold them in like you’re wrapping a present.

DIY throw pillow step 4

Bring them together in the center so they slightly overlap.

DIY throw pillow step 5

Use a safety pin to secure the corners to each other.

DIY Throw pillow step 6

Choose any buttons you’d like and either hot glue them to the fabric or sew them on if you know how.

And that’s it! If you want to make your lines nice and crisp while folding, you can use an iron. The nice thing about this method is you can always take the cover apart down the road if you want to cover the pillow with something else or if you have another use for the fabric.

DIY throw pillow cover

Dress up your couch with your new throw pillow!

Both Jo-Anns and Hobby Lobby have weekly coupons you can use on one yard of fabric. This cover cost me $5 after my discount. It’s a great way to dress up your old throw pillows at a really reasonable price.

2 thoughts on “DIY no-sew throw pillows

  1. This has to be the easiest diy pillow cover. I never thought of wrapping my pillows. Thanks for the inspiration!! Something just got bumped down on my to-do list, not sure what, but I’ve got to make room for this pronto!!

  2. Ok this is super funny! I was at Hobby lobby the other day looking through remnants like I always do & found two 1/2 yards of some super cute fabric but I didn’t know what to do with it so I just put it in my basket to “think about it” while walking around. My thought is always….it’s a good deal just get it you’ll figure something out. Then I remembered your no sew pillow post & thought, sweet this will be perfect. Well I got home & finished the pillows, I posted my pictures of FB & wanted to tag your blog with the instructions. When I came back to to blog it was a real LOL because I’m pretty sure I have the same exact fabric you used & the same couch! TOO FUNNY!!! Well thank you for the idea, sorry I was a total copy cat.

Leave a Reply

