Pub table make-over

So, I have this table. It sits in our kitchen nook and when we first purchased it I absolutely loved it. Then, we had a child. All of a sudden the microfiber seats and delicate wooden surface were not super appealing. Within 3 years I found myself looking at this table in complete disgust and wishing it never existed. I think I would mentally block it out whenever I entered our kitchen and believe me when I say, no one was ever invited to eat at it other than my 3 year old daughter, which made it degenerate all that much faster.

I really hate to subject you to the following pictures, but you can’t truly appreciate the transformation without them:

Pay close attention to the seat underneath the booster. It's a stained mess.

Pay close attention to the seat underneath the booster. It’s a stained mess.

Scratches, glass rings, and stains, oh my!

Scratches, glass rings, and stains, oh my!

Remember when I painted the coffee table for our living room? You know how I had a bunch of extra paint and didn’t know what to do with it? Yep, you guessed it. I decided to use the exact same paint to cover up this eye sore and transform it into something functional, appealing to the eye, and practical for having a toddler.

Pub table make-over

The old and the new.

I wanted a fun fabric to cover up the microfiber, but I also wanted something stain resistant. I decided to pick out a fun floral grey, white and yellow pattern and then cover it with durable plastic to make it easy to wipe and keep clean.

Finished Pub Table

And here it is. No longer an eye sore or an embarrassment.

To cover the chairs I just unscrewed the old seats and used a staple gun to cover them with the fabric first, and then the plastic on top.

And because I’m one of those cheesy themey types, I thought my daughter should have a matching table:

DIY Kid's Nook

Please disregard our floors that are in transition from laminate to tile. And pay no attention to that toy under the table. Poor Pablo is a victim of our flooring project.

And if you were wondering how I made that little cushion for my daughter’s chair, I forgot to mention that about a month ago I received a sewing machine. I’m pretty much obsessed with it and have created several things that I hope to share with you soon. They are all novice projects so I am hoping you’ll follow me on my journey and that you won’t laugh at me if you are already an experienced sew-er (“sewer” just didn’t read correctly).

Leave a Reply

