Out with the oak. In with the new. (DIY Banister Makeover)

When we moved in our house I had no issue with our banisters. In fact I really liked them. But as all upgrades go, when you make one change you often end up having to make a lot.

When we redid our entryway flooring, we noticed how terrible our carpet looked. Then when we replaced the old carpet with laminate flooring, we saw how much our oak banisters stuck out like a sore thumb against the dark wood boards. It started to bother me more and more, but replacing our entire banister (which is ginormous and pretty much goes on forever), I started trying to think of some way to still make them “fit” with our home without paying thousands of dollars.

I was reluctant at first to paint them for a few reasons. The first major reason was the work involved. I reflected back on our kitchen cabinet makeover and how many months we plugged along on that project, and how many coats of paint it required! Yikes. But after my more recent experience using the paint with primer already mixed in on a few furniture pieces, I thought it could be possible to do this rather quickly.

My second hesitation was how a painted railing would look versus a stained rail. But after Pinteresting and Googling pictures of others who did the same thing I came to the conclusion that I liked the final result and was willing to give it a try. It was simply unacceptable in my artist’s eye to endure this eye sore for any longer. Call me a snob.

This project seriously took us about 5 hours. Only one coat of paint plus touch ups were required. And no, we didn’t sand. Ask me in a few months how it’s holding up.

Banister Makeover

Oak banisters prepped for painting.

DIY Banister makeover

One sexy husband lending a helping hand.

DIY Banister Makeover

After the tape came off and paint was dry to the touch.

DIY Painted Banister

Upstairs. See? I told you the rails just don’t quit in this house.

The cost of this project? Whatever a quart of paint with primer cost. I can’t remember. Maybe $10? The best thing about this paint is it is so ultra smooth. We can’t even see brush strokes. It truly turned out amazing.

We also have lots of paint left over for touch ups. Overall, definitely worth spending a Saturday afternoon working on!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Out with the oak. In with the new. (DIY Banister Makeover)

    • Hi! I don’t remember the exact paint color I used (however I will try to find the name for you), but I used a semi gloss “signature” valspar paint which means that they add my paint color to primer so it was a half and half (paint/ primer). I highly recommend that because it only took one coat and the coverage was excellent! I had to go back and do a few touch ups but overall, one coat did it!

Leave a Reply

