Closet turned mudroom

This is a project I’ve wanted to do for a long time. We have a closet in the garage entry way that has always simply stored junk. It used to be the home of our cat’s litterbox, and after that it just stored whatever it was that we didn’t have a place for elsewhere.

One day I was flipping through a magazine that my mom had on her coffee table that showed a lady who had converted a closet much like ours into a mudroom. Brilliant! I immediately knew that’s what I wanted to do.

With kids coming in and out with muddy and wet boots (especially during the winter months), I wanted a place where they could sit and take off and store boots, shoes, gloves, coats, etc.

Transformed Closet to Mudroom

Here is the transformed space.

We held off for awhile because originally I wanted to have bead board lining the mudroom but it was just going to end up costing too much. I finally decided that painting the inner walls with a paint color we already had on hand was the way to go. I really like the way it turned out.

It’s super simple too. We just removed the closet doors, painted the interior, put in a bench and installed a couple of hooks.

To add some light we got some of those puck lights that plug into an outlet and stuck them on the bottom of the top shelf. Then we put one single piece of molding across so that the lights weren’t visible.

I will be following this post within the next few weeks with a few other DIY projects that were included in this project.

I’ll show you how I made this:

"LOVE" Hook Rack

Decorative “LOVE” hook rack/ wall hanging.

And these:

Rust Shoe Baskets

Rustic shoe baskets.

Here is the view of our new mudroom from the hallway:

DIY Mudroom

The transformation makes a much more spacious entry way from the garage and creates a much more practical place for children to remove shoes before they walk all over my hardwoods!

More to come in the next few weeks!

 

 

One thought on “Closet turned mudroom

Leave a Reply

