Decorative Vintage Drawer

I’m back from a very long hiatus and I have a lot to blog about! In short, we went to China in June to bring home our new daughter! She’s been home with us about 3 months now and I am finally getting back into the groove. She and my oldest daughter are keeping me pretty preoccupied, however I make sure to make time to do some projects now and then.

I thought I would start off with one of my more simple projects just to get things rolling again.  I’m excited for all the things I have in store for this blog so please stay tuned. Thank you for your patience as I slowly add more projects that I have completed as time allows.

This project was simple and fun. I found a lone vintage drawer at our local thrift store. It was sitting underneath another piece of furniture without a price tag. I asked the staff if it was for sale, and after they searched the store and their back room and didn’t find a home for it, it became mine for $4.24. A real steal, in my opinion!

beforedrawer

Vintage Drawer

A lone vintage sewing machine drawer. How could I resist?

I loved the detail on it and it had a slit at the very top front that I knew I could make use of. I used some left over Annie Sloan Pure White chalk paint, however acrylic paint would’ve worked just fine as well. I also had some wooden tags left over from another project that I sprayed with chalkboard paint. They just happened to be a perfect fit for the slit:

finisheddrawer2 Finished DrawerI added a little bit of twine to the tag and pushed it in the slit, then filled the drawer with pine cones. Most of the pine cones were found around my neighborhood. I painted a few of them with white tips for a seasonal touch.

Decorative drawers are a perfect addition to a coffee table, or side table. They are so charming and each is unique.

In the coming weeks I am going to show you how we did budget wainscoting in our living room to really give it an elegant look, and how to make some really inexpensive palette-looking wall art. I’m excited!

Leave a Reply

